I’m not your typical organic shopper.  Frankly speaking, it’s just too expensive for me to buy organic, even more now that I have a family.  However, having a family should be the very reason why I need to jump on the organic bandwagon. I want my children to eat wholesome, chemical-free food, especially with some of the new research coming out on the harmful effects of pesticides*.

When I saw the Ozone Park CSA flyer, I was amazed to see how affordable the membership was.  $15 per week for fresh, organic veggies is a ridiculously low price considering the amount you’d typically pay at the supermarket. I joined the group the very next day, rejoicing that I’d finally found my way into a more organic lifestyle without having to break the bank.

Last night was the Ozone Park CSA’s first official distribution.  I was like a little kid in a candy store receiving my bags of fresh goodies. Handed over to me were two large bags of yummy looking greens.  There was so much I had to do a bit of rearranging in order to fit it all into my fridge. 

Eager to dive into my new stash, I decided to cook something up right away.  I don’t consider myself that great of a cook, as my typical preparation of dinner veggies involves a frozen box and a microwave.  It took me a couple of minutes to figure out what and how to cook, but then I remembered someone at the distribution saying something about sautéing kale.  I decided to add a tad of olive oil to a pot and throw in some of the kale, a few grape tomatoes, and some salt and pepper for taste. I wasn’t quite sure how it would come out, and I had my doubts when I saw the finished product.

I tried a spoonful and it was simply amaaaaazing. I put my husband to the taste test and he was also in complete awe. My meat-lover hubby actually turned to me after dinner and mumbled something to the effect of “maybe I can become a vegetarian”. Too many evenings filled with frozen broccoli could have played a factor in his revelation, but I’d like to think that most of the credit goes to the fresh veggies…and most definitely not my cooking.

As for cooking, I’m planning to make some pesto this weekend with the garlic scapes. I’ll let you know how it goes.

-Meredith Torres, organic newbie and member of Ozone Park CSA

*  http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/37156010/ns/health-kids_and_parenting/

