I’d never even heard of garlic scapes before receiving them as part of the CSA’s first distribution, so I had to search online for a recipe to use them in.

I found this and it sounded oh so yum.

GARLIC SCAPE AND ALMOND PESTO

INGREDIENTS:

– 10 garlic scapes, finely chopped
– 1/3 to 1/2 cup finely grated Parmesan (to taste and texture)
– 1/3 cup slivered almonds (lightly toasted if you prefer)
– About 1/2 cup olive oil
– Sea salt

Put the scapes, 1/3 cup of the cheese, almonds and half the olive oil in the bowl of a food processor (I used my blender instead).  Whir to chop and blend all the ingredients and then add the remainder of the oil and, if you want, more cheese.  If you like the texture, stop; if you’d like it a little thinner, add some more oil.  Season with salt. It makes about one cup.

The pesto can be used on a variety of things, including meats, fish, pasta, etc… I bought a loaf of french bread and used it as a spread. Once again it was a mega hit with my husband, and he was sad when we finished it last eve.  Hoping to get some more garlic scapes soon so I can cheer him up with another batch!

-Meredith W Torres

