I lived in Japan for 8 years, and chahan (Japanese-style fried rice) was one of my favorite dishes. Luckily for me, it also happens to be one of the easiest to make!

I had some leftover rice and needed to use it up quick. Instead of adding the typical vegetables such as cabbage and bean sprouts I decided to use some veggies from this past week’s distribution.

INGREDIENTS:
– 4 cups of cooked rice
– tbsp olive oil
– 3 small zucchini
– 2 small onions
– 2 eggs
– 1/2 cup ketchup
– salt and pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS:
First, chop and sautee the onions and zucchini with olive oil. Add eggs and scramble together. Add in rice and ketchup. Mix together with salt and pepper.

You can add more veggies if you’d like, and of course lessen the ketchup or add more to suit the desired flavor. Before I went to Japan I would have thought that ketchup on rice is totally gross, but after tasting this dish I changed my mind. You will, too!

– Meredith Wutz-Torres

