In my hometown of Buffalo there used to be this restaurant situated across the Niagara River called “Old Man River”.  It was ol’ shack of a place that served up your normal greasy fare – hamburgers, hot dogs, fries, rings, shakes, etc… I fell in love with one item on their menu called the Bunny Dog.  Basically,  it was just a grilled carrot placed in a hot dog bun. I’d put all the regular fixins’ on it – ketchup, mustard and relish – and it would turn into the yummiest vegetarian hot dog I have ever tasted.

Well,  Old man River has sinced closed (sob!), but the Bunny Dog remains alive at my house. Last night we grilled some of the CSA carrots on the grill for about 30 minutes.  I then placed in a toasted hot dog roll and added some ketchup and a tad of mustard and ouila! homemade, ORGANIC bunny dog!  It tasted delicious and brought back memories of my youthful vegetarian years. sigh.

***UPDATE. I just googled Old Man River and it seems NOT to be closed?! Perhaps they reopened cause I thought it went out of business. Well, hmm, this is great news and I’ll make sure to visit next time I’m in town.

