If you are like me, then you are still not sure what to do with all the Jerusalem Artichokes we have been getting since late in the summer CSA season. For the most part I have just been adding a couple of them to anything I make with a variety of root veggies as well as dicing them to top tossed salads. This is an effective, tasty and very slow way to consume them. I highly recommend it to anyone who is attempting to savor their share for as long as possible. If you are like me at this point – searching for a way to gobble them down ASAP – then let me suggest this bastardized version of a recipe from Serving Up the Harvest by Andrea Chesman

Ingredients:
– However many Jerusalem Artichokes you want to use up (I did about 1lb)
– A liberal splash of Olive Oil
– A couple cloves of garlic minced
– Zest of half a lemon
– A sprig of basil torn up (I used about 6 leaves from some I had frozen)
– Sea Salt to taste

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 450
2. Scrub the artichokes then dice them into pieces (I made them about 1″)
3. In a large bowl mix oil, garlic, lemon & basil. Toss in the chokes and make sure they are coated
4. Put in a baking pan single layer
5. Bake about 20 min shaking/stirring occasionally (don’t brush your arm on the oven door when you do this. It hurts!)
6. Sprinkle with a bit of salt & serve up hot

Alternate Plan – In the original recipe the garlic, lemon & basil are blended together in a mini food processor then added about half way through the baking time. I suspect that it would give the dish a little more of a zip.

Peace, Love & Veggies!

~ Angel

